welcome 2 the molly zone

my newsletter...my precious newsletter

The Molly Zone newsletter....it lives!!!!

If you are receiving this email, it means you either subscribed to my Tinyletter newsletter in like 2018, or more recently to a Substack link I started circulating after Elon Musk bought Twitter and went sicko mode over there. This is neither a Tinyletter nor a Substack! Ha ha! I'm doing this newsletter on Beehiiv, a platform I discovered after I subscribed to the weed newsletter Cash Only. Beehiiv lets you go kind of crazy with customization and formatting and I am a freak for customization and formatting. Give me a choice of fonts and I will agonize for hours, and feel so, so great doing it.

Anyway, thank you for having subscribed at some point over the last five years. Probably un-shockingly, this newsletter will largely consist of interviews with musicians and music-adjacent people. I interview music people via video over at The Alternative, and I talk to music people on my podcast And Introducing. But I wanted to 'get back to my roots' and do some written-format stuff, therefore completing a 360-degree spin of the brain's content processing faculties.

I will be talking to people doing cool things in the musical realm, and then I will also ask them for recommendations of other people to talk to, and talk to those people, and it will be sort of like a music-themed game of telephone that offers a treasure trove of recommendations, discoveries, vibes and so on. And I am sure that I will also write some other types of pieces for this as well (I have been sitting on an essay I wrote about going to a drum & bass festival in the Netherlands for a little while, for instance) and use it to cross-promote the other things I do. Nice and normal newsletter things.

The first edition will get sent this week! I will probably send such emails on Friday, as a Friday treat! We all love Fridays, TGI and otherwise. Email me with comments, questions, concerns, recs for folks I need to interview, etc. YEAH BABY!

— Molly Mary O'Brien